Prince Andrew has been accused by Virginia Roberts Giuffre of having sex with her when she was trafficked at 17. If he were on trial in the court of public opinion he has surely already lost his case.

Despite the backing of the Queen, Prince Andrew has never had a gleaming reputation. Loss of reputation is a theme in his birth chart. Ketu is in Pisces, where we find his Ārūḍha Lagna.

The Sanskrit word Ārūḍha means ‘attainment’ or ‘mount’. The Ārūḍha Lagna or AL is a special ascendant (Lagna) which shows how tangible results from the ascendant. …

Jossuha Theophile on Unsplash

While there are many advantages to having Ketu transiting Scorpio, as it reveals things that were previously hidden, there are many problems it can bring up. The cover ups, the denials, the revelations, the uncertainties, the cyber-attacks, the scary realities, the need to find someone to blame — all of these could be attributed to Ketu in Scorpio.

Together with Rahu in Taurus, the nodes have shown many problems the world has had to deal with throughout history. There have been attacks, bombings, threats of war, and actual wars, blocks to supply chains and scarcity issues, diseases, including viruses and epidemics…

Photography Ian Stauffer on Unsplash

The issue of free will keeps coming up in astrology for obvious reasons. When we can map out someone’s life in great detail in a timeline, it’s natural for someone to ask the question: How much of it can I change?

There are different kinds of results, some being more obviously fixed, while others seem to have at least a little leeway, but there are seen to be four areas or houses in particular which correspond to ‘free will’ in the Indian horoscope.
Of course, there is no such thing as ‘free’ will.

It wouldn’t take you long to…

Ancient of Days by William Blake

The word yoga means ‘union’ or ‘yoke’, which, in the calculation of the limbs of time, or pañchāṅga, represents the union of the Sun and Moon, by adding the degrees of both each day of the month. There are 27 possible yogas and connect to the 27 lunar mansions. The exact degree of the combination of the Sun and Moon’s longitude is called the ‘yogi point’.

There are a few ways to calculate the yogi point. One is to add the longitude of the Sun to the longitude of the Moon and then add 93 degrees and 20 minutes, the…

Alex Rosario on Unsplash

I once read a chart for someone who began to use the word ‘rahoo’ as a sort of exclamation while experiencing a Rahu time period, much like you would use ‘woohoo’! They did this without ever having heard of Rahu or what the word meant. Although they did not know it, they were in the grip of one of the Grahas.

The word Graha is where we get our words grip, grab and grasp. The Greeks gave us the word planet, to mean ‘wanderer’, while Indian astrologers or Jyotiṣī saw the planets as deities with the power to grab us…

Photography by Charlie Costello from Unsplash

Grounded. Sounds good, right? Not if you are trying to fly!

The grounding of 777 flights around the world is a good example of Mars having just entered Taurus alongside Rahu, the north node of the Moon, as Venus transits Aquarius, Rahu’s sign. It highlights, not only the possibility of Mars getting stuck in Taurus, but the square aspect and contrast/conflict between it and Aquarius. Taurus is an earth-dominant sign, Aquarius, air-dominant. These signs are both fixed. Being an earth sign, Taurus is more set in its ways. …

There are many ways of dividing up the signs of the zodiac into houses, and different reasons we would do so. Indian astrology traditionally divides the zodiac into 12 equal parts, no matter the location or time of year.

This is called the Rāśi Cakra; rāśi (Sun signs), meaning a ‘measure’ of degrees, and cakra meaning ‘wheel’; thus, dividing up the 360 degree zodiac into 12 sections of 30 degrees each. This could be termed the ‘natural zodiac’ and is used by most ancient systems of astrology.

The Rāśi or ‘whole sign house’ approach in Indian astrology uses each sign…

Image: Jnana Chaupar 18th Century

​Have you ever played the board game Snakes and Ladders? It is a great teaching tool for life, actually. This is what it was first used for. Surviving game boards suggest Snakes and Ladders emerged somewhere in Northern India or Nepal, where the game was known as the ‘Game of Knowledge’.

You get so far up the ladder, but at the roll of the dice (karma), you find yourself slipping down the snake. You take one step forward, and then slip 10 steps back. Sometimes, you take just one step forward, and then are catapulted…

Alain Bonnardeaux on Unsplash

Taken from the 2021 Edition of Timeline Astrology Magazine

So you thought Pluto was nearly done with Capricorn? It’s just beginning!

​On December 31, 2020, Pluto enters sidereal Capricorn and transits the sign until 2040. The following two decades promise big changes in how we structure our lives, and in how our lives are structured for us, including changes in governments, banking, corporations, and working life. …

Photo by Jossuha Theophile

Mars is retrograde from September 10 to November 14, 2020, from 4° Aries to 21° Pisces (Sidereal Zodiac)

Mars retrograde represents the courage to act based on previous actions. This builds inner strength and resolve, but it does not always come easily. We must be patient as the internal strength builds and learn to direct the energy through healthy channels. We may find ourselves doing things we used to do to gain strength, as we tap into huge reserves of strength within. …

Gary O'Toole

Get the Medium app

A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store